Skip to main content
Latest News

Matchplay and Ladies Matchplay Championships 2023

By 12 Jul 23November 22nd, 2023No Comments
That’s the 100th Matchplay and 13th Ladies Matchplay Championships concluded and what a thrilling few days it’s been! The weather has not been kind to the players or officials, but they all coped amazingly well and the quality shone through.
Our most sincere thanks to Thales, our headline sponsor, and Army Sport for their generous support, without which we would not be able to hold these events at the magnificent Saunton Golf Club. It is such an honour to be welcomed back year after year where the committee and staff take such good care of us and go above and beyond – huge thanks to them all! 🫶 We must thank the golf club members too for allowing us to take over their course! Many thanks to Communications Specialist Ltd for providing their radios which have allowed for command and control between the officials and the tournament desk. We have also had a visit from BT this year and we thank Georgia for taking the time to drive down from her office in Bristol. Last, but not least, many thanks to all our golfers, male and female, who took part in this year’s Championships.
Congratulations to this year’s winners!
Ladies Matchplay Champion is Lt Col Alex O’Brien RLC.
Plate Winner is Cpl Emma Dann RCAM.
Stableford Winner is Maj Gina Smith REME.
Lt Col Alex O’Brien also won the Most Improved Golfer award.
Matchplay Champion is LCpl Thomas Sanghera REME.
Plate Winner is Cpl Prem Bahadur Gurung R SIGS.
The Reserve Champion is LCpl Cameron Weir RLC.
The Most Improved Golfer award went to Cpl Glen Watt RAC.
Monday Scratch Stableford winner is SSgt Chris Rosie RE.
Tuesday Handicap Stableford winner is CSgt Yambahadur Gurung RCAM.
Wednesday Handicap Stableford winner is SSgt Narayan Thapa AGC.
The full list of all winners, results, and photos and videos can be found here.